Editorial Blog 4

Photograph by Tony Sweet

http://tonysweetphotography.blogspot.com/

As the weather has started to turn, I have been looking in nature for some inspiration. I have started photographing some flowers in a park by my house. The results have been mixed thus far, as my pictures have become somewhat stagnant. I have tried soft and hard foci to change up the photos, but they all seem to be similar. I was looking to find a new technique to spice up my photos. After looking at some blogs, I stumbled upon photographer Tony Sweet. Sweet specializes in photographing flowers. He uses many interesting techniques such as blending and texture to make his photos unique. In this particular picture, Sweet used a twisting technique. As he zoomed in on the group of flowers, he twisted his camera. This resulted in a blurred image that appears to be spinning. I love this photo because he has taken a simple object like a flower and made it unique and interesting. While the technique has blurred the flowers so much that one can only see the colors, the twist of the object has created a flower like affect on the photo. It almost seems as if the image is moving. I have attempted to capture an image with the twist technique and it is rather difficult, however when mastered it can create a really great image. I really like how Sweet is adding depth to his images by trying outside the box techniques. I feel like these techniques could be used on a wide variety of subjects, not just flower shots.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment