Assignment 5

Project: Strange Wilderness

Shot on a Nikon D40x outdoors, all of the images are of flowers and shrubs.

My project, Strange Wilderness, captures the birth of spring. In my photos, I shoot primarily flower scenes with a few shots of shrubs. I used a zoom technique along with soft and hard foci to give the image’s depth. These photos were inspired by the breathtaking beauty of nature  and particularly, the colors of flowers. Additionally, these photos were meant to capture the period of natural birth that is spring. Spring is the Earth’s time to produce one of its most spectacular creations, the flower. The flowers in these photos are wide-ranging: with warm oranges and reds, and cool purples and blues. The flowers are counterbalanced with the shrubs that create a more relaxed mood. Through these photos I hope people can feel the sense of possibility conjured up when looking at flowers and nature.

I am making no political statements through these photos. I am not calling into question social issues. I am not showing a dark side of myself. I am only showing how pretty flowers can be. This is enough for me. I hope it’s enough for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Assignment 5

  1. anaharo says:

    I think you did a wonderful job capturing the details of the flowers. I especially like the the images with yellow and orange flowers. I think the lighting in these images is awesome! I think if you chose images with similar colored flowers it would tie all the images together. DSC_0726, 0727, 0728, 0734 would make a great series.

Leave a comment